The castle stands in the locality of Lalex, on a promontory overlooking the Aosta plain above the state road to Mont Blanc, shortly after the junction for Cogne. Built in 1710 by Giovanni Francesco Ferrod of Arvier on the remains of a fortified house from 1242, after various changes of ownership it was purchased in 1869 by the King of Italy Victor Emmanuel II, who renovated it and used it as a residence during his hunting trips in the Aosta Valley.